NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian South Australia on 02/11/2015.

Thank you for your support…

Thank you to all ESA members who attended the AGM on Monday night, 26 October.   With 152 members in attendance, it was one of the most strongly attended AGMs in recent years with six candidates vying for three Board vacancies - a  wonderfully welcome improvement!

  • Congratulations to Shaun Flynn, Manon Strachan and Michael Haese elected on the night and a thank you to all candidates who nominated themselves in support of the EA.    
  • Special thanks to Di Norris, retiring Chair, for all her efforts and achievements in her 6 years of service as a Board member. 
  • Thank you to those who will soon step into new discipline committee roles.  The discipline committee details are listed on the EA website
  • Thank you to Julie Payne for agreeing to take on the role of AGM Chairperson

The 2015 AGM

Voting for this year’s AGM was conducted by postal ballot to ensure as many of our members as possible had the opportunity to vote.  We recognise that in some instances not all members were able to receive and return their ballots within the constitutional timeframe.

We want to ensure all members are able to participate as part of their membership benefits.  To that end the Board commits to undertaking a review of the ballot process prior to the next AGM to decide whether or not this was an effective process, and how it may be improved.

As most people would be aware, the AGM must be conducted in accordance with very strict constitutional procedures.  We are comfortable that we met our obligations under the constitution and are aware that some members would have welcomed the opportunity to ask questions of the board at the AGM.  This is a process that the board will review for the next AGM to ensure we are able to hear your views.

A motion from the floor resulted in the financial report being deferred to another date so that the financial report could be considered.  This meeting will be organised once the new Board meets for the first time on the 5th of November. 

Board interaction

In the meantime, most discipline committees have a designated Board member attending meetings regularly.   Any clubs or committees who do not have regular face-to-face visits with a Board member are reminded that Board delegates can be invited to attend as a guest of your meeting.  Written communications to the Board are welcome if your issue can not be resolved at the discipline committee level.  Keep in mind the Board only meets once a month for all but the most urgent matters. 

Have your say

Our sport is made up of riders, volunteers, families and passionate sports followers who often have strong opinions. That's greatwe want to hear from you!

Full contact details are on the website.

All feedback is welcome as long as it is provided respectfully and in keeping with the EA Membership Bylaws and Social Media Policy.

Thank you again for your passion and support and we look forward to working with you all over the coming year.

The ESA Board

Caroline Jones,  Sarah Hocking, Gareth Heron, Elizabeth Fricker, Judy Whyntie, Michael Haese, Manon Strachan, Shaun Flynn.     

Other Top News